SBI Clerk syllabus

Online exam for Junior Associate (clerical) posts: a 100-mark Preliminary of three separately timed tests, then a 200-mark Main, with a quarter-mark penalty.

SBI Clerk Preliminary Examination

English Language

30 questions, 30 marks · 20 minutes

Set in English only. 1 mark for a right answer; 1/4 mark taken off for a wrong one. The booklet's sample types are illustrative, not a full syllabus.

  • Grammar and sentence completion
  • Error spotting
  • Synonyms and antonyms
  • Vocabulary
  • Reading comprehension

Numerical Ability

35 questions, 35 marks · 20 minutes

Medium is English and the language applicable to the State. 1 mark for a right answer; 1/4 mark taken off for a wrong one. No calculator is allowed.

  • Computation and simplification
  • Quantitative reasoning
  • Tables and graphs

Reasoning Ability

35 questions, 35 marks · 20 minutes

Medium is English and the language applicable to the State. 1 mark for a right answer; 1/4 mark taken off for a wrong one.

  • Odd one out and analogy
  • Coding and arrangement
  • Syllogism and what follows from given statements
  • Puzzles described in words

SBI Clerk Main Examination

General/Financial Awareness

50 questions, 50 marks · 35 minutes

The advertisement names the test and does not publish a topic list. 1 mark each if the 50 marks are split evenly; a wrong answer costs 1/4 of the mark assigned to that question.

  • General awareness
  • Financial awareness

General English

40 questions, 40 marks · 35 minutes

Set in English only. The advertisement does not publish a topic list.

  • General English

Quantitative Aptitude

50 questions, 50 marks · 45 minutes

Medium follows the State list, marked * in the advertisement. The advertisement does not publish a topic list.

  • Quantitative aptitude

Reasoning Ability & Computer Aptitude

50 questions, 60 marks · 45 minutes

50 questions carry 60 marks in all. The advertisement does not say how the 60 marks are divided. The scale below treats each question as 1.2 marks, so a wrong answer takes away 0.30.

  • Reasoning
  • Computer aptitude

Local Language Proficiency Test

Non-verbal test (objective)

3 passages, 15 questions, 15 marks · Not stated

Qualifying. The Bank decides the minimum marks (5% relaxation for SC, ST, OBC, PwBD, ex-servicemen and disabled ex-servicemen).

  • Objective questions on passages in the opted local language

Non-verbal test (subjective)

3 passages, 15 questions, 15 marks · Not stated

Qualifying. The advertisement does not describe how the written answers are judged.

  • Written answers on passages in the opted local language

Verbal test

20 marks; the number of questions is not stated · Not stated

The advertisement gives 20 marks and does not say whether the test is spoken or written, or how many questions it has.

  • A verbal test in the opted local language